What is an RSE?

We like an inclusive definition of Research Software Engineers to encompass those who regularly use expertise in programming to advance research. This includes researchers who spend a significant amount of time programming, full-time software engineers writing code to solve research problems, and those somewhere in-between. We aspire to apply the skills and practices of software development to research to create more robust, manageable, and sustainable research software. See more here.


What is the US-RSE Association?

Initiatives in the UK, Germany, the Netherlands and elsewhere are bringing together the community of people writing and contributing to research software at the national and international level. In the US this encompasses universities, laboratories, knowledge institutes, companies and other enterprises. This site is part of that effort.

RSE News & Updates


2021 US-RSE Virtual Workshop

Following the success of the 2020 US-RSE Virtual Workshop, we decided to keep the event this year virtual due to the ongoing pandemic. The 2021 US-RSE Virtual Workshop will be held on two non-consecutive half days: May 24 and 27, 2021, 1-4pm ET/12-3pm CT/10am-1pm PT. [Read More]

February Community Call Summary

The February US-RSE Community Call focused on the topic of RSE education and training. It was well attended with about 25 participants. After some updates from the steering committee we started out with a few warm up Mentimeter questions. Turns out Star Wars created a lot of favorite fictional characters... [Read More]

US-RSE Newsletter

February 2021 Newsletter

In this bi-monthly newsletter, we share recent, current, and planned activities of the US-RSE Association, and related news that we think is of interest to US-RSE members. Newsletters are also available on our website alongside the growing resources and information on the US-RSE Association. A sign-up option for our newsletter... [Read More]